Magic

“The world is full of magic things, patiently waiting for our senses to grow sharper.”

– W.B.Yeats

The concept of magic is something that’s always fascinated me. From a very early age, even pre school, I remember being completely obsessed by it.

Wizadora was my first magic related obsession. If you’re clueless as to what that is, it was a TV show back in the 90s. I can’t remember in the slightest what it was about, but I have a very faint memory of begging my parents to let me make my own ‘wizzy wand.’ I think in effect the end product was just a load of black gaffa tape stuck to an empty loo roll tube, but at the time I was in my element and it made me feel magical (enough, at least, to chase the cats around out lounge trying to vanish them…)

Harry Potter too captivated me throughout my teen years. I think the whole concept of being able to manipulate things with the wave of a wand just seemed like the perfect world to escape into. If something wasn’t going the desired way, a spell could be cast and the problem solved.

But with time, my interest in literal magic has naturally eroded. I’m fairly happy with my life at the moment and I think the passion and dreams that fuel me and drive me on replace the need to escape into a fantasy world; there’s very little to escape from.

‘Camp Chi Magic’ was a phrase often used throughout my time in America, but this was of course not literal magic; I wasn’t teaching in the American version of Hogwarts, after all! It just took me a while learn the reality of the situation.

At the end of every session in camp, they have a closing ceremony known as Chi Burning. I remember it well because it was unlike anything that had happened in camp to that point. Every single member of camp walked arm in arm, under the most perfect starry sky, to the beach beside its lake. Here, we sat together singing proper camp fire songs and celebrating the time we’d spent together. It was the most beautiful experience, almost indescribable. That was surely the Camp Chi magic we’d been told about all summer and at that point it hit me; magic isn’t spells or potions or fighting or fantasy at all, it’s a very real and undervalued thing.

 

Leave a Reply

